Red Zone Area List in Dhaka & Bangladesh


To prevent corona in the country, including the capital, the government has started working to control the situation by dividing it into red, yellow, and green (red, yellow, and green) Lockdown zone based on the infection rate.

In particular, the areas where more corona patients have been identified are being brought under the red zone and Lockdown is being declared.

Which area is Lockdown in Bangladesh

Areas in Bangladesh where the rate of coronavirus infection is high will be declared a ‘red zone’ and locked down. There will be a general holiday in the area during the lockdown.

For the rest of the country, everything will continue, including public transport, to a limited extent, in compliance with the current health regulations.

Redzone area in Bangladesh

The website of the Ministry of Health shows three divisions, 50 districts and 400 Upazilas of the country as complete lockdown (considered as a red zone). Besides, partial lockdown (considered yellow zone) is being shown to five divisions, 13 districts, and 19 Upazilas.

Apart from this, one district showing non-lockdown (considered as a green zone) and 75 Upazilas are being shown.

All preparations have been made to implement hygiene and legal measures in these areas.

On June 1, ministers, secretaries and senior police officials of several government departments met. The meeting decided on area-based lockdown. Work has started today to implement that decision. Although there is a 7-day general holiday in the country, it has not been possible to prevent corona infection. On the contrary, corona infection is increasing day by day.

Lockdown Areas in Barishal

Areas Lockeddown: Barguna, Barisal, Patuakhali, and Pirojpur are said to be completely locked down in the Barisal division in the latest updated list on the ministry’s website on Saturday. Partial lockdown in this section is Bhola and Jhalakati.

Lockdown Areas in Dhaka

Gazipur, Gopalganj, Kishoreganj, Madaripur, Manikganj, Munshiganj, Narayanganj, Narsingdi, Rajbari, Shariatpur and Tangail have been completely locked down in Dhaka division. Only Dhaka and Faridpur partial lockdown in this section.

Lockdown Areas in Chittagong

The Chittagong Division is being called a complete lockdown – Brahmanbaria, Chandpur, Comilla, Cox’s Bazar, Feni, Khagrachhari, Laxmipur, and Noakhali. Partial lockdown in this section is Bandarban, Chittagong, and Rangamati.

Lockdown Areas in Khulna

Within the Khulna division, Chuadanga, Jessore, Khulna, Meherpur, Narail, and Satkhira are being called a complete lockdown. Bagerhat, Kushtia, and Magura are called partial lockdown in this section. Jhenaidah is the only green zone in the country in Khulna division, which means it is not a lockdown.

Lockdown Areas in Rajshahi

Bogra, Joypurhat, Naogaon, Natore, and Rajshahi are being called complete lockdown in the Rajshahi division. Partial lockdown in this section is Chapainawabganj, Pabna, and Sirajganj.

Lockdown Areas in Rangpur

All the eight districts of Rangpur division are being called complete lockdown. The districts are Dinajpur, Gaibandha, Kurigram, Lalmonirhat, Nilphamari, Panchagarh, Rangpur, and Thakurgaon.

Lockdown Areas in Sylhet

All the districts of Sylhet division are being called a complete lockdown. The districts of the division are Habiganj, Moulvibazar, Sunamganj, and Sylhet.

Lockdown Areas in Mymensingh

All the districts of Mymensingh division are also being called a complete lockdown. These four districts are Jamalpur, Mymensingh, Netrokona, and Sherpur.

Lockdown News in Bangladesh Latest Update

“In areas where 60 out of every 100,000 people are infected with Covid-19, the area will be declared a ‘red zone’ and brought under lockdown. We thought if we could do a zone-based lockdown now, maybe it could be controlled. ”

Prior to this, there was a total of 7 days of public holiday in several phases from March 26 to prevent coronavirus infection. The office was then opened conditionally from May 31 to June 15. Besides, public transport and domestic aviation were introduced.

The area that will be the ‘red zone’ will be blocked. There will be a general holiday in that area. The lockdown in the red zone will be implemented by the concerned city corporation or municipality, and the district administration.

“The lockdown in the red zone will be effective for 14 to 21 days. There will be a Covid-19 test booth. There will be doctors and ambulances. All food, medicine, and market arrangements will be fully inside. The area will be cordoned off from all sides to keep people out.” Can’t get out, and no one can get in from the outside. ”

Zone wise Lockdown in Bangladesh

However, areas outside the ‘red zone’ will no longer be given general leave, and will continue to operate on a limited scale, as it is now, in accordance with health regulations.

“Our goal is to reduce the number of infections, which is why offices, courts, banks, and other institutions have a limited range of operations, which will continue for a few more days. Public transport will also continue.”

The areas to be locked down have already been finalized and a comprehensive announcement will be made in this regard, said State Minister for Public Administration.



  1. BBC Bangla,
  2. The Daily Prothom Alo.